30

23 Mar

30 days have passed. It looked like an interesting, motivating challenge: post for 30 continuous days on my blog and see what happens.

I will admit to partial failure and overall success. I’ve missed two days out of subjective and objective and reasons – that’s the failure bit, with no excuses in the attachment. But I’ve gained something important: a blog I can call my own home on the Internet and actually feel like home there.

So, lessons learnt …
1. This works. Build habits, not steam and guilt.

2. It’s work. It takes times. Do it only if you care enough to do something that is good quality.

3. Connect. Blogging isn’t just about writing, it’s a lot more about reading other good blogs and learning from them.

4. Decide where you want to go.

While the first 3 are self-explanatory, I will dwell on the fourth a bit, because starting up a blog for the long term requires a little bit of forethought if you want to provide good quality material. Pinpointing a raison d’etre for it is also important to keep you going through the 3rd point.

Why?
I run this blog for 3 prosaic reasons:

  • to keep writing
  • to improve my writing
  • to get read as much as possible by people who know their fiction, irrespective whether they are writers or expert readers

Accountability
The best thing this blog can do for me is to keep me accountable. I have to write if I take up the challenge publicly and will continue to do so on a daily basis, unless I need to make an exception for the sake of my health or my relationship with my wonderful wife.

Danger!
The worst thing this blog can do for me is to keep me from writing what I should. I have several writing projects which have stalled a bit since I’ve started and I would like to take the opportunity to lay out a way to use the blog for writing the things that I should on a basis of at least 300 words per day on the average.

So, here goes the write-o-meter. I will dedicate a page on this blog to weekly mapping progress on my projects. I’ve laid out the foundation here, where you can learn more about what I’m working on right now, see my progress and hooray or boo me if I’m hard-working, respectively lazy.

And if you’re at it, leave a comment/idea about how you keep yourself accountable, why it works for you and how do you think it may work for others.

Thanks for the trouble of reading through this. Honestly…

Leave a Reply

